Playing Guy Clark’s guitars

With Guy Clark holding a guitar he built.

With Guy Clark holding a guitar he built.

I was saddened to learn of the death of Guy Clark in The Tennessean. It was a treat to spend some time with this songwriter’s songwriter and a personal hero in 2013. Here’s the blog about that experience I hope you will enjoy. God bless Guy Clark for maintaining his integrity by writing songs of substance.

Last Tuesday, I was in Guy Clark’s house to interview him for an upcoming column in 2nd & Church, Nashville’s quarterly literary magazine. Guy is one of the songwriters I admire most and I have followed his work since the mid-1980s. Sitting at a table with him in his home talking about songwriting was something I could never have imagined those years ago when I discovered his music for myself.

The theme for the magazine is Ernest Hemingway. Guy co-wrote the song Hemingway’s Whiskey. When the issue is published, you can read Guy’s comments about the man considered by some to be America’s greatest 20th Century author. But this is about my experience of being with a songwriting hero.

Guy Clark not only plays guitars, he has built them. I asked if there were similarities between writing songs and building guitars. “Sometimes I draw that comparison,” he said. “You have to take care with what you’re doing. I like to think of writing songs as art and poetry and at times, I feel that building guitars is the same thing. Except writing is so cerebral. You’re just sitting there staring out a window trying to come up with something from a pocket full of bar napkins from the night before. I’ve got one bar napkin that says, ‘my life was a blank bar napkin ‘til I met you.’”

As we continued to talk he reached toward a Flamenco-style guitar near him, handed it to me and said, “Check this one out. That may be my favorite.” I had told him that I had played some of his songs about the Texas Gulf Coast along the upper Gulf when I played clubs there frequently in the 1980s and 1990s. He asked which ones so I played him a little of “Blowin’ Like a Bandit,” his song about shrimping. I played one verse and realized that there I was, playing a Guy Clark song for Guy Clark. On a guitar Guy Clark had built that he may consider his favorite. In Guy Clark’s house. Wow.

The label inside the instrument was unlike any I had seen before. “I prick my little finger and smear blood on the label and then sign through it,” he said.

Then, when I thought life couldn’t get any better, he handed me a steel-string that he had also built. “I also build these to play on stage, but not this particular one.” It had no strap-pin or electronics for amplification. “That one sounds so good, I decided to keep it in the house,” Guy said.

“Do you mind if I put a pick to it,” I asked and he said, “Sure. That’s what you’re s’posed to do.” I pulled a pick from my pocket and played him one of my songs, Old Lighthouse.

“Thank you very much for letting me play your guitars,” I said as I handed it back to him. “Oh sure,” he replied, “I love it when other people play ‘em.”

In his song Dublin Blues, Guy refers to witnessing excellence in viewing Michelangelo’s David and da Vinci’s Mona Lisa, not to mention hearing Doc Watson pick the Columbus Stockade Blues. In my own case, I haven’t seen David or Mona Lisa. But I have heard Doc Watson play Columbus Stockade Blues and many other songs and I agree with Guy about that. Now, I’ve had a visit with Guy Clark and the opportunity to play his guitars. For me, that ranks right up there with anybody’s milestones of excellent experiences.

Text and photos copyright 2013 by Les Kerr.

Follow Les Kerr on

Click to follow Les on Facebook

Click to follow Les on Facebook

About Les Kerr

Les Kerr is a songwriter, recording artist, journalist and author originally from the Gulf Coast now based in Nashville, Tennessee. Learn More about Les at www.leskerr.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Playing Guy Clark’s guitars

  1. Tammy Vice says:

    I know what a Guy Clark fan you are Les. This must have been a surreal treat. I look forward to reading your upcoming article.

  2. talentedturtle says:

    Awesome! What a great experience, Les!

  3. That is so cool! Great story and awesome you got to meet this legend!

  4. Louie says:

    congrats Les!…man it doesn’t get any better than that!..a world of people would like to have had the honor you received

  5. katkennedy506087046 says:

    Wow, Les! How cool is that? Desperados Waiting for a Train has always been one of my favorites, and when I packed up to move back home from California you can bet I played Jerry Jeff Walker’s cover of LA Freeway on my way out of town. Great post.

    • Les Kerr says:

      Kat – thanks so much! Guy’s new album, My Favorite Picture of You, is one of his best, too. I recommend it highly.

      • katkennedy506087046 says:

        Yes, I love it! He still sounds great! Listened to some of your songs yesterday, too! Sounding good my friend. Love the Gulf Coast songs!

  6. Stin Fox says:

    Les — a moment your will never forget, that’s for sure! Thanks for sharing it with us. Looking forward to the article

  7. Brent from Nashville says:

    Excellent! What a story!

Leave a Reply

