20 years with “The Gail”

At our wedding reception July 31, 1993.

At our wedding reception July 31, 1993.

Some people set getting married as a life goal. I never did. Neither did Gail, my wife of twenty years. Maybe that’s why our marriage has worked so well. It was a matter of two people finding the right mate without a concerted effort being put forth just to get married. We met and fell in love. It was as simple as that. Now, I cannot fathom not being married to Gail and we love our life together. We could not be happier.

This week, we’ve looked at wedding photos and done a lot of reminiscing about the days

On our honeymoon sailing off St. Thomas, USVI, 1993

On our honeymoon sailing off St. Thomas, USVI, 1993

and weeks before our wedding in Nashville in 1993. Our wedding was attended by many friends and family members and we were honored by their presence. We still have such fond memories of the wedding, reception and the trip we took to St. Thomas, USVI, to celebrate. We love each other as much or more now as we did then and our love and marriage continues to grow stronger.

Gail and Les Kerr, December, 2012

Gail and Les Kerr, December, 2012

While we were dating, I wrote a song called The Gail using the fact that her name rhymes with a weather condition (gale) as a play on words. I still sing it and love her very much. The lyrics follow and you can click the photo below them to hear the song and watch a video based on The Gail.

Enjoy!

 
 
 
The Gail
Words and Music by Les Kerr
 
Two days out from the Florida Keys on the way to Mobile Bay
I haven’t seen waves as big as these since I got underway
The midday sky is graveyard grey and the rain’s begun to blow
A Gail’s about to get me and there’s no place I can go
 
Chorus:
She blew in with a Gail-force wind
She put me in a real tail-spin
Slack the lines; reef the sail; there’s water over the rail
She’s an awesome Gail
 
She started out a friendly breeze when I left from the shore
Now she and I are well aware this has become much more
The winds are up to thirty knots but I’ve still got the wheel
Now I would bet the lifeboat that she knows just how I feel
 
Chorus:
She blew in with a Gail-force wind
She put me in a real tail-spin
Slack the lines; reef the sail; there’s water over the rail
She’s an awesome Gail
 
So I’ll hang on and ride with her as long as I’m afloat
We’re plaining like a surfboard in a thirty-six foot boat
We’re in this thing together now, the mighty Gail and me
I have no doubt we’ll ride it out and she’ll rock and roll with me
 
Chorus:
She blew in with a Gail-force wind
She put me in a real tail-spin
Slack the lines; reef the sail; there’s water over the rail
She’s an awesome Gail
Tag (after 3rd chorus): She’s a mighty Gail; She’s one hell of a Gail
 
Words and music copyright 1990 by Les Kerr
Publisher: O.N.U. Music ASCAP
Click for the video of "The Gail."

Click for the video of “The Gail.”

Text and photos copyright 2013 Les Kerr

Visit www.leskerr.com

About Les Kerr

Les Kerr is a songwriter, recording artist, journalist and author originally from the Gulf Coast now based in Nashville, Tennessee. Learn More about Les at www.leskerr.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 20 years with “The Gail”

  1. Thanks for sharing this sweet story.

  2. Loved reading this – and Congrats on the anniversary!

  3. Congratulations! Love the story and the song.

Leave a Reply

