Pickin’ for American Pickers

Performers sing behind this antique motorcycle.

Performers sing behind this antique motorcycle.

When I walked into Nashville’s Antique Archaeology store to perform for the first time, I felt as if I were walking into an episode of American Pickers, the History Channel TV series. Makes perfect sense. Antique Archaeology is one of the retail outlets for the items hosts Mike Wolfe and Frank Fritz travel the country “picking,” with guidance on where to look from the trusty Danielle Colby Cushman. It is only fitting that the Nashville store is located in the home of the old Marathon Motor Works, an automobile manufacturer that produced cars in the building from 1910-1914. Some of the items in Antique Archaeology date back that far and then some.

It is also fitting that in the Nashville location, now a viable tourist destination, live music

Performing at Antique Archaeology

Les Kerr at Antique Archaeology. Photo: Alan Whitman

can be found on weekends. I have been fortunate enough to perform in this unique venue and sing to the people doing the “shuffle and look; shuffle and look,” through the store. Scores of people from all over the country come through and see the very things on display that they have seen Mike and Frank barter, haggle, negotiate and seal with a handshake (and cash) to acquire. As a devoted viewer, I have seen items in the store that were “picked” during the previous night’s episode, like a giant coin-operated duck that kids would have ridden years ago outside a dime store (remember when things cost a dime?).

It’s one of the most unusual settings I have ever played. The stage area is right

I remember using these "antiques!"

I remember using these “antiques!”

behind a vintage motorcycle and next to some antique microphones.

Me singing into a now "antique" microphone, 1972,

Me singing into a now “antique” microphone, 1972,

I hardly ever think about my own age but those microphones cause me to ponder it. They look familiar to me because they are similar to the ones still in use when I first performed in the Pascagoula High School auditorium in 1972. Now they’re antiques.

Bearing that in mind, I make it a point not to play too many old songs. I don’t want to get sold as an antique!

Click photos to enlarge images.

Les Kerr’s music is availble for download at I-Tunes, Amazon, Beachfrontradio.com and other internet sites. Visit Les Kerr’s web site at www.leskerr.com

Text and photos copyright 2013 by Les Kerr.

About Les Kerr

Les Kerr is a songwriter, recording artist, journalist and author originally from the Gulf Coast now based in Nashville, Tennessee. Learn More about Les at www.leskerr.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pickin’ for American Pickers

  1. matt hoggatt says:

    great blog Les. I love that show as well

  2. What an interesting venue! 🙂

Leave a Reply

