October 19, 1956

Random birthday thoughts

October 19, 1956: To quote Charles Dickens, “To begin my life with the beginning of my life, I record that I was born (as I have been informed and believe) on a Friday…”

My grandfather turned fifty-six years old the day before I was born. I am now as old as he was then. My favorite record, Heartbreak Hotel by Elvis Presley, was released in January of that year.

October 19, 1973: My high school rock & roll group, Les Kerr & The Blue Suede Band, played the annual Junior Civitan Club party in Pascagoula, Mississippi.  It was my seventeenth birthday. The club, led by Linda Baggett, presented me with a tie they had decorated with the word “Elvis” in glitter attached by Elmer’s glue.

October 19, 1996: My wife Gail and some dear friends surprised me with the gift of a beautiful, cherry-red 1989 model Gibson ES335 electric guitar the day I turned forty years old.

October 19, 2006: Gail and I woke up in Gautier, Mississippi, across the river from Pascagoula, my second hometown. That night, I performed at Hal & Mal’s in Jackson, Mississippi, my first hometown, on my fiftieth birthday.

October 19, 2012: I woke up at 6:56 a.m. and thought, “There must be something about the number ’56.'” According to the calendar (& Mr. Dickens), Friday was my original birthday. And here I am, fifty-six years later in Nashville, Tennessee, my hometown since 1987, celebrating on a Friday. I’ve always enjoyed Fridays.

I am very blessed and happy about all of these things and so much more.

Thank you.

Text and photos copyright 2012 by Les Kerr. Learn More about Les at www.leskerr.com

About Les Kerr

Les Kerr is a songwriter, recording artist, journalist and author originally from the Gulf Coast now based in Nashville, Tennessee. Learn More about Les at www.leskerr.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to October 19, 1956

  1. Deborah Chatham says:

    Great memories Les!
    Life does have a way of cycling back around.
    I never thought I would reconnect with so many of the friends and happy memories
    of Pascagoula days, but am happy that has come to pass.

  2. Happy Belated Birthday! Love your posts, they are so reflective.

Leave a Reply

