My Mistresses

Union Avenue, Downtown Memphis

Within the last year I’ve traveled to both Memphis and New Orleans, the cities I refer to as “My Mistresses.”  Although I have performed music in both places, when I “play Memphis” or “play New Orleans,” I really do “play,” onstage and off.  Throughout my life I have lived what I call dangerously close to each city and spend just enough time with each for them to remain seductively attractive.

St. Peter Street, New Orleans, at dusk

I’ve gotten to know these mistresses pretty well and I never tire of visiting them.  I’ll keep going back as long as they’ll have me.

I’ll let the lyrics of the song I wrote about My Mistresses tell the story, along with these photos.  Click here to listen to My Mistresses or read the lyrics and view photos below.

My Mistresses
I’ve always lived a quiet life, an upright faithful guy
But I’ve been blessed with one peculiar wandering eye
If you know me well, you know what I can’t refuse
A lady who can make me laugh or sing me the blues
I can’t resist ‘em and I’ll never kiss ‘em goodbye
 
 

The Peabody Hotel, Memphis, Tennessee

My Mistresses are Memphis and New Orleans
I’m just like other Mississippi men
I know I can’t have either one forever
But I gotta have ‘em every now and then
 
Sophisticated sirens are tugging at my arm
One has a Cajun accent and they both have Southern charm
One’s as soft as cotton; one’s Louisiana spice
One offers me a julep; one says, “Red beans and rice?”
They’re getting to me and I know they’ll do me right
 
My Mistresses are Memphis and New Orleans
I’m just like other Mississippi men
I know I can’t have either one forever
But I gotta have ‘em every now and then
 
 

Looking towards New Orleans from the river

They both live on the river
And they both will take me in
Anytime that I may be inclined
Neither one is jealous and I really do regret
That I can’t be with them both at the same time
 
  
Now this tale of two cities might wear another down; But best of times or worst of times, I’ll still be comin’ ‘round
That high-toned Southern Lady and that Creole-French coquette                                                                              
They both know how to lure me and I’m bound to see ‘em, yet
When they call me back, Son, I’m leavin’ Jackson, you bet
 
My Mistresses are Memphis and New Orleans
I’m just like other Mississippi men
I know I can’t have either one forever
But I gotta have ‘em every now and then
 

Learn More about Les at www.leskerr.com

Text and photos copyright 2012 by Les Kerr
My Mistresses copyright 1998 Les Kerr (ASCAP); Published by O.N.U. Music (ASCAP)
About Les Kerr

Les Kerr is a songwriter, recording artist, journalist and author originally from the Gulf Coast now based in Nashville, Tennessee. Learn More about Les at www.leskerr.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

