Still singing

“You can stretch my broken guitar strings From Pascagoula to Ocean Springs
I’ve played all kinds of music on the Gulf of Mexico
I played a little country, played a little rock
I’ve played ‘uptown’ and around the block”
Whatever it takes to give the folks a show” *

Old Highway 90.  That was my favorite way to get from Pascagoula to Ocean Springs in the 1970s, even though the relatively new Interstate 10 could get me there with a smoother ride.  And a lot less scenery.

In 2011, I headed for Ocean Springs again, this time from Nashville with my friend Johnny Mire to perform there at a special event featuring songwriters.  Johnny and I were in the same Pascagoula High School class and we were both budding guitarists and singers then, although we didn’t play together.  Turns out that we both moved to Nashville at about the same time and we haven’t played together during those years, either.  That is,

Johnny Mire (left) and Les Kerr, 2011 Photo: Dylan Mire

until 2011 year when, as more mature songwriters, we got together to rekindle a friendship and swap some tunes and memories.

Music, for me, has always been a wonderful way to make friends.  My first “stage” was in Mrs. Irene Shepard’s Spanish class in Pascagoula when I finagled a way to play for classmates by demonstrating the guitar’s Spanish heritage.  Clever, right?  Of course, I had to throw in a little of my Elvis imitation, as well.  “Gracias, Senora, muchas, muchas gracias!” (Spanish for “Thank you, Ma’am. Thank you very much!”)

I wasn’t an athlete or star student, but thanks to my guitar, I had an identity and a calling card with which to make friends.  The guitar is still my calling card and I’m grateful to it for introducing me to so many friends over the years.

*From Hillbilly Blues Caribbean Rock & Roll ©1989 Words and music by Les Kerr

For music, books, tour dates and More about Les, visit www.leskerr.com

About Les Kerr

Les Kerr is a songwriter, recording artist, journalist and author originally from the Gulf Coast now based in Nashville, Tennessee. Learn More about Les at www.leskerr.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Still singing

  1. the south in my mouth says:

    Sounds like a super fun weekend!

  2. We are looking forward to a great weekend. All performances are FREE! Come join us.

Leave a Reply

