Les Kerr’s personal winter survival kit

What I stock up on in cold weather (and other weather, for that matter)

What I stock up on in cold weather (and other weather, for that matter)

Weather predictions in Nashville this week included a high temperature of four degrees Monday, January 6. This news, as usual, sent people scurrying to the grocery store to stock up on milk. What is it about cold weather that creates an unusual necessity for milk? The parking lot at the Publix grocery store was packed when I stopped to get some beer. Once inside, I witnessed a bunch of frantic shoppers cleaning out the dairy department. Well, O.K., that’s what they need and it’s none of my business.

But this gave me pause to make sure I have all of the essentials when I got home. I made a checklist of my own needs in case I am stranded inside my own house. These items always come in handy for me, bad weather or not, but it gives me a feeling of comfort to know I have them on hand. If I do get snowed in, I hope I’ll have a song to show for it, or at least a nice warm feeling that can be provided by coffee (with chicory) or Jack Daniel’s, depending on time of day.

It is my hope that you will stay warm in the coming days and nights and that you’ll have everything you need. In my case, I can safely say, “Let it snow. Or not.”

The Official Les Kerr Winter Survival Kit:

1. Coffee with chicory from New Orleans for cold winter mornings
2. Jack Daniel’s Tennessee Sour Mash Whiskey for cold winter nights
3. A stack of ideas for song lines and titles
4. Plenty of ink for my favorite songwriting pen, a wood-barreled fountain pen Gail gave me on our first anniversary
5. Plenty of legal pads upon which to administer aforementioned song ideas
6. Extra guitar strings (D’Addario medium gauge phosphor bronze)
7. Enough creativity and initiative to put all of these items to good use
 

Text and photos copyright 2014 by Les Kerr

About Les Kerr

Les Kerr is a songwriter, recording artist, journalist and author originally from the Gulf Coast now based in Nashville, Tennessee. Learn More about Les at www.leskerr.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Les Kerr’s personal winter survival kit

  1. tommypeggy says:

    That’s an gud thing to have on ure list.
    Thnx Les

  2. katkennedy506087046 says:

    Great post, Les. The Jack Daniels with honey is a good companion on these cold writing days. I had just poured my morning cup of Community Coffee when I read this, so let the good times roll – even in the cold!

  3. Les Kerr says:

    Thanks, Kat – I’m firing up the coffee pot right now, too! Stay warm.

  4. Love your list Les. I noticed another oddity at the Kroger this past weekend. The bananas were all gone. Perhaps they make banana smoothies with the milk.

  5. katkennedy506087046 says:

    Very funny! This is close to my hurricane survival kit, too. I’m liking the JD with honey these days. Mardi Gras season is fast upon us – Laissez les bon temps rouler!

Leave a Reply

